TODAY: Support access to state services in languages other than English!

Help ensure all New Mexicans can access state services in languages other than English!

HB 22: Limited English Access to State Programs is scheduled to be heard TODAY at 6:00 p.m. on the Senate Floor. We need your help to get it passed! 

Please call and email your senator to urge them to support the bill. 

All New Mexicans deserve equal access to state services, regardless of the language they speak. New Mexico is home to thousands of people that primarily speak Spanish, Vietnamese, Chinese and Diné and other languages. Despite being required by law, many agencies do not provide information and services in languages New Mexicans understand. Lack of language services has delayed or prevented New Mexicans from applying for unemployment insurance, food assistance, and Medicaid prior to and during the pandemic and deepens economic and health disparities in our communities. 

HB 22 requires state agencies to develop plans to provide help in languages other than English, ensuring that more New Mexicans can access state services. 

You can share a personal story about why state agencies should provide interpretation or translation. You can also say something like this: “I urge senators to support HB 22. All New Mexicans should have access to state services. Coordinating and planning language services is a common sense step to address health and economic inequities in our state services.”

HB 22 Summary

Language Access Analysis, Plan, and Annual Report will increase language access by requiring state agencies to: 

  • Collect data on the number of New Mexicans agencies that primarily speak a language other than English and determine the resources needed to ensure meaningful access to services through translation and interpretation.
  • Develop and implement an annual plan to provide meaningful access to state programs for individuals who primarily speak languages other than English. 
  • Submit the annual report to the governor and the Legislative Finance Committee.

Instructions for Contacting Your Senator

When: Before 6:00 p.m. on Tuesday, February 15, 2022

How: Please choose the senator that represents your district from the contact list below and email and/or call them to urge them to support the bill. 

What to You Can Say: Hello, my name is __________, I live in ________ and my zip code is _______. I am calling to urge Senator ________ to support HB22. Every New Mexican should have access to state services regardless of the language they speak. The many languages and cultures in New Mexico are one of our greatest strengths and this bill ensures that none of our communities are left behind. 

Senators: 2022 Legislative Session

  • Gregory A. Baca: (505) 986-4877, greg.baca@nmlegis.gov
  • Craig W. Brandt: (505) 986-4385, craig.brandt@nmlegis.gov
  • William F. Burt: (505) 986-4366, bill.burt@nmlegis.gov
  • Pete Campos: (505) 986-4311, pete.campos@nmlegis.gov
  • Jacob R. Candelaria: (505) 986-4380, jacob.candelaria@nmlegis.gov
  • Joseph Cervantes: (505) 986-4861, joseph.cervantes@nmlegis.gov
  • Crystal R. Diamond: (505) 986-4703, crystal.diamond@nmlegis.gov
  • Katy M. Duhigg: (505) 986-4726, katy.duhigg@nmlegis.gov
  • David M. Gallegos: (505) 986-4278, david.rsi@hotmail.com
  • Roberto “Bobby” J. Gonzales: (505) 986-4362, roberto.gonzales@nmlegis.gov
  • Ron Griggs: (505) 986-4391, ron.griggs@nmlegis.gov
  • Carrie Hamblen: (505) 986-4266, carrie.hamblen@nmlegis.gov
  • Siah Correa Hemphill: (505) 986-4863, siah.hemphill@nmlegis.gov
  • Martin Hickey: (505) 986-4513, martin.hickey@nmlegis.gov
  • Stuart Ingle: (505) 986-4702, stuart.ingle@nmlegis.gov
  • Daniel A. Ivey-Soto: (505) 986-4270, daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov
  • Leo Jaramillo: (505) 986-4487, leo.jaramillo@nmlegis.gov
  • Gay G. Kernan: (505) 986-4274, gay.kernan@nmlegis.gov
  • Linda M. Lopez: (505) 986-4737linda.lopez@nmlegis.gov
  • Brenda G. McKenna(505) 986-4301, brenda.mckenna@nmlegis.gov
  • Mark Moores: mark.moores@nmlegis.gov
  • George K. Munoz: (505) 986-4371, george.munoz@nmlegis.gov
  • Steven P. Neville: (505) 986-4701, steven.neville@nmlegis.gov
  • Bill B. O’Neill: (505) 986-4260, oneillsd13@billoneillfornm.com
  • Gerald Ortiz y Pino: (505) 986-4482, jortizyp@msn.com
  • Michael Padilla: (505) 986-4267, michael.padilla@nmlegis.gov
  • Shannon D. Pinto: (505) 986-4835, shannon.pinto@nmlegis.gov
  • Cliff R. Pirtle: (505) 986-4369, cliff.pirtle@nmlegis.gov
  • Harold Pope: (505) 986-4365, harold.popejr@nmlegis.gov
  • Nancy Rodriguez: (505) 986-4264, nancy.rodriguez@nmlegis.gov
  • Joshua A. Sanchez: (505) 986-4375, jas4nm@gmail.com
  • Gregg Schmedes: (505) 986-4395, gregg.schmedes@nmlegis.gov
  • Antoinette Sedillo Lopez: (505) 986-4389, a.sedillolopez@nmlegis.gov
  • William E. Sharer: (505) 986-4381, bill@williamsharer.com
  • Benny Shendo: (505) 986-4310, benny.shendo@nmlegis.gov
  • William P. Soules: (505) 986-4834, bill.soules@nmlegis.gov
  • Elizabeth “Liz” Stefanics: (505) 986-4377l, stefanics@msn.com
  • Jeff Steinborn: (505) 986-4862, jeff.steinborn@nmlegis.gov
  • Mimi Stewart: (505) 986-4734, https://bit.ly/ContactSenStewart
  • Bill Tallman: (505) 986-4373, bill.tallman@nmlegis.gov
  • Peter Wirth: (505) 986-4727, peter.wirth@nmlegis.gov
  • Pat Woods: (505) 986-4393, pat.woods@nmlegis.gov